Ariza Awards Scholarships

Ariza continues its mandate to assist its members in ascending to financial freedom, whether through an array of products and services suited for all or providing financial assistance to those in need. On Friday 14th October, Ariza hosted its 19th Scholarship Programme, awarding 9 students. Mr Kippling Charles, Executive Manager, Finance and Operations, greeted the awardees and admonished them to be focused and vigilant as they proceed through their educational journey.

Ariza currently offers four scholarship Programmes to ensure that various students at different levels in their education can benefit. The scholarships are as follows:

Blue Ribbon Award

The Blue Ribbon Award is granted to members of the Credit Union’s Education Savings Plan holder who scored the highest in the CPEA exam. The student will receive $1000.00 per year for their five-year secondary school duration, providing that grades remain at a high standard. This year, the Blue Ribbon was awarded to Mya Carter, who ranked 3rd on the island in the 2018 CPEA examination. She attended the St. Georges Anglican Senior School and now a student of the St. Joseph Convent -St. George.

Secondary School Scholarship

The Secondary School scholarship is granted to two students entering secondary school for a period of five (5) academic years, receiving $1000.00 per year. This award is given based on Merit and need.

The following students were awarded:

  • Dilan Nelson who attended Beacon Junior School and now attending the Presentation Brothers College.
  • And Amira Ogilvie who attended the Corinth Government School and now attending the St. Joseph Convent-St. George

Brighter Future Scholarship

The Brighter Future Scholarship is awarded to students entering into T.A Marryshow Community College and will obtain a scholarship in the amount of $1500 per year for their two years in TAMCC.

Similar to the Secondary School Scholarship Award, the Brighter Future Scholarship is given based on Merit and Need.

The two students awarded in this category were:

  • Ezra Frederick
  • Kamal Farray

Joseph Bain Award

The Joseph Bain Award is geared towards assisting students in their pursuit of University level education at various institutions. These awardees received assistance in the amount of $5000.00 each.

They were as follows:

  • Crispin Andrews- pursuing his Msc. in advanced Chemical Engineering with IT and Management at the Loughborough University in London.
  • Elizabeth Collins- pursuing a Bachelor’s degree in Accounting and Finance with SGU.
  • Lucyanna Greaves – pursuing her Bachelor’s degree in Architecture at Atlantic International University.
  • Ginelle Charles – pursuing her Bachelor’s degree in Sociology.

In closing, Mrs Meryl Lord, Chairman of the Scholarship committee also gave words of encouragement to the students and reminded them that maintaining top grades is essential in remaining in the Scholarship Programme.

Scholarship recipients with Executive Manager, Kippling Charles and VP of Board of Directors, Dennis Cornwall

More News

We are hiring!

Ariza Credit Union, rebranded from the Grenada Public Service Co-operative Credit Union in 2016, is a strong, dynamic and innovative... Read more